Learn about HSMAI's history

Upcoming Chapter Events

Sponsor Spotlight

Board of Directors



It's time to nominate for the February, 2016 Gold Key Awards



It's time to nominate for the February, 2016 Gold Key Awards

Become an HSMAI Board or Committee Member Now!

Are you interested in volunteering in an organization committed to the San Diego hospitality community? We welcome applications to become a Board or Committee member year round with an official Board change at the end of every calendar year. Please refer to this document for the board position descriptions. Please fill out the online application form or contact us with your interest to serve and we'll find a place for you.

2017 Board and Commitee Members

Dana Cariss - Evolution Hospitality

Immediate Past President
Gillian Ware, CMP - SD Tourism Authority

Managing Director
Denise Vissat - Very Well Done Productions

Richard Hancock - Realtor/ Mobile Notary

Elaine La Placa Heston - Goldfield Stage Company

Vice President/Membership & Recruitment
Harold Johnson

VP of Programs
Elizabeth Fuller - The Bristol Hotel, San Diego

Director of Sponsorship 
Filipe Machaz - GuestCentric

Director of Social Media/Technology
Jeremiah Magone - MoreDirectBooking.com

Director of Logistics
Jose Curiel - Westin San Diego

Director of Fundraising
Heidi Alcantara - Edlen Electrical Exhibition Services

Director at Large
Umut Aslan - Men In Black Transportation

Director of Student Relations
Heather Boye - Flagship Cruises

Student Liaison
Christina Vazquez - SD State University

Committee Member

Darlene G. Larson - San Diego Zoo

Committee Member
John Parker - Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Committee Member
Lucy Lopez -
San Diego Convention Center

HSMAI quicklinks


Chapter quicklinks